Share this!

The Order of Canada is one of the country’s highest civilian honours. (Governor General of Canada) The new appointments to the Order of Canada were announced Friday and four of them are from Saskatchewan.

Harold Walter Orr and Karim Wade Nasser are from Saskatoon, Vianne Timmons is from Regina and Frederick Sasakamoose is from Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation.

The Order of Canada recognizes Canadian citizens who have made outstanding achievements, are dedicated to the community or have served the nation.

Frederick Sasakamoose has been recognized for being the first Indigenous player in the NHL and his continued work promoting sports.

Harold Walter Orr pioneered energy-efficient home-building in Canada.

Karim Wade Nasser is a philanthropist who has supported many different causes, including education, health care and the arts.

Vianne Timmons is a leader in post-secondary education and has served as the president of the University of Regina since 2008.

In total, there were 124 new appointments to the Order of Canada. Lists of new appointments are announced twice a year.

(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)

Share this!