Share this!

Canada’s premiers are seen during the closing news conference following a meeting of premiers in Whitehorse, Yukon, on July, 22, 2016. Provincial, territorial and Aboriginal leaders will descend on Edmonton Monday for the annual summer Council of the Federation meeting.

As incoming chair of the council, Premier Rachel Notley is hosting the event in Alberta this year.

“A strong partnership among our provinces and territories is essential to meeting our shared concerns in a strong Canada,” she said in a recent statement.

“I look forward to welcoming the premiers to the heart of the West, as we build on what we accomplished this year in Yukon and address emerging issues.”

Created in 2003, the Council of the Federation is comprised of all 13 provincial and territorial premiers. It promotes provincial-territorial co-operation and closer ties among members.

It also aims to foster meaningful relations among governments based on respect for the Constitution and recognition of the diversity within the country, and show leadership on issues important to all Canadians.

As per recent tradition, the first meeting will be with Indigenous leaders, slated for Monday at the Federal Building.

Last year’s summer meeting was held in Whitehorse, Yukon.

British Columbia : Newly elected premier John Horgan will be conspicuously absent from the meeting. By deadline there was no word if his NDP government was sending a stand-in, but with his cabinet being sworn in on July 18, it definitely won’t be a minister. Horgan is the only premier not coming.

Yukon : Sandy Silver. A Liberal, Silver was first elected to the legislative assembly in 2011. He was re-elected in 2016.

Northwest Territories : Bob McLeod. An independent, McLeod was first elected to the legislative assembly in 2007. He became premier in 2011 and was re-elected in 2015.

Alberta : Rachel Notley, obviously. She’s hosting the meeting, after all, so it would be kind of rude not to turn up.

Saskatchewan : Brad Wall. Head of the Saskatchewan Party, Wall was first elected in 1999, and re-elected in 2003, 2007, 2011, and 2016.

Nunavut : Peter Taptuna. He’s the third premier of the territory, which works on a non-partisan consensus model. First elected in 2013, Taptuna has held the position ever since.

Manitoba : Brian Pallister. Head of Manitoba’s Progressive Conservatives, Pallister will be the newest face at the table, having toppled the province’s NDP government in 2016. Pallister has swung between provincial and federal politics and became premier of the Friendly Province last year.

Ontario : Kathleen Wynne. First elected to the Ontario legislature in 2003, Wynne became premier after winning leadership of the Ontario Liberal Party in 2013. She was re-elected in 2014. Wynne was Ontario’s first female premier and the first openly gay head of a provincial or federal government in Canada. Quebec : Philippe Couillard. First elected in 2003, he resigned in 2008. He then ran again in 2012 and became leader of the Quebec Liberal Party in 2013. He was elected premier in 2014. New Brunswick : Brian Gallant. Aged 35, the Liberal leader is Canada’s youngest premier. Gallant won leadership of the party in 2012. He was elected the next year in a by-election, and won the 2014 election to become premier. Prince Edward Island : Wade MacLauchlan. The only candidate for Liberal leadership in its 2015 race, he became premier in 2015. MacLauchlan is PEI’s first openly gay premier. Nova Scotia : Stephen McNeil. First elected in 2003, McNeil ran for leadership of the Liberal Party in 2007. He was elected premier in 2013. Newfoundland and Labrador : Dwight Ball. Leader of the Liberal Party, Ball was first elected in a […]

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Share this!